América vs Pachuca – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

América twice took the lead and twice failed to hold it as Pachuca earned a 2-2 draw with an 89th-minute equalizer. The result keeps the Águilas unbeaten this season, while the Tuzos are still winless but earned their first point.

The game started with a golden opportunity for the hosts to take the lead when referee Fernando Guerrero called Robert Herrera for a foul in the box in the first minute. Oribe Peralta stepped up to take the penalty, but Alfonso Blanco saved it to keep the game 0-0.

Despite that setback, it didn’t take long for the Águilas to break the deadlock. In the 14th minute, Peralta finished off a pass from Renato Ibarra to make it 1-0 for the hosts.

Pachuca looked to respond and in the 21st minute Franco Jara was denied by the crossbar. Then, Erick Aguirre forced a good save out of Agustín Marchesín with his header. The Tuzos hit the woodwork again in the 40th minute, but halftime came with América still in the lead.

However, Pachuca found the equalizer just moments into the second half, with Óscar Murillo’s header making it 1-1 in the 46th minute.

The Tuzos had several good chances to go on to take the lead, but Marchesín was in fine form in goal to repeatedly deny the visitors. When the next goal came, it was for the hosts. In the 75th minute, Mateus Uribe played a low ball into the box and Henry Martín sent it home to give América the 2-1 lead.

With time running out, Pachuca found another equalizer. In the 89th minute, Raúl López sent a long cross into the box and Víctor Guzmán made just enough contact to send the ball into the net to make it 2-2.

With the 2-2 draw, América reaches four points while Pachuca reaches one.



América: Agustín Marchesín, Carlos Vargas, Víctor Aguilera, Bruno Valdez, Paul Aguilar (Edson Álvarez 20′), Guido Rodríguez, Mateus Uribe, Renato Ibarra (Cecilio Domínguez 76′), Henry Martín, Oribe Peralta, Carlos Darwin Quintero (Joe Corona 60′).

Pachuca: Alfonso Blanco, Emmanuel García, Joaquín Martínez (Raúl López 86′), Óscar Murillo, Robert Herrera, Keisuke Honda, Víctor Guzmán, Ángelo Sagal (Roberto de la Rosa 77′), Erick Aguirre (Sebastián Palacios 69′), Jorge Hernández, Franco Jara.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.