Lobos BUAP vs Pumas UNAM – Jornada 4 Recap and Highlights

Lobos BUAP took the lead but couldn’t hold it as Pumas UNAM came back for a 1-1 draw. The result snaps a three-game losing streak for the Licántropos but leaves them winless in the Clausura 2018, while the universitarios remain unbeaten.

The game started off well for the hosts, who took the lead in just the 6th minute. Lobos took advantage of a set piece to open the scoring, with César Cercado appearing completely unmarked to head home a corner kick and make it 1-0.

Pumas were unable to get a foothold in the game in the first half, with Lobos having more possession and the better of the chances. Julián Quiñones had a good chance to make it 2-0 in the 23rd minute, but his header went over the bar.

In the second half, Pumas made some attack-minded substitutions as they looked to even the score. In the 59th minute, they had a golden chance to level the game when they won a penalty for a foul on Nicolás Castillo.

Castillo took and converted the spot kick, but referee Diego Montaño ruled it had to be taken again due to encroachment. On the second attempt, Castillo missed the target as he sent the ball over the bar.

It looked like Lobos had escaped, but after that point Pumas controlled the ball. They found the equalizer in the 73rd minute from another set piece, with Marcelo Díaz scoring direct from a free kick to make it 1-1.

The closing stages of the game were end-to-end as both teams looked for a game-winner, but in the end Lobos and Pumas had to settle for a share of the spoils.

With the 1-1 draw, Lobos reach one points while Pumas reach eight.



Lobos: Jorge Villalpando, César Cercado, Francisco Rodríguez, Heriberto Olvera, Luis Advíncula, Eduardo Tercero, Gabriel Cortez (Diego Jiménez 64′), Pedro Aquino, Juan Carlos Medina (Jordan Sierra 80′), Irven Ávila (Amaury Escoto 77′), Julian Quiñones.

Pumas: Alfredo Saldívar, Josécarlos van Rankin (Abraham González 64′), Alejandro Arribas, Luis Quintana, Luis Fernando Fuentes, David Cabrera (Matías Alustiza 46′), Jesús Gallardo, Marcelo Díaz, Mauro Formica (Alan Mendoza 81′), Pablo Barrera, Nicolás Castillo.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.