Monterrey vs Puebla – Jornada 10 Recap and Highlights

Puebla earned their first road win of the season with a comprehensive 1-3 victory against Monterrey. The result is the Rayados’ first home loss of the Clausura 2018 and leaves them with just one win in their last five overall.

The game started off well for the hosts as Monterrey took the lead in the 9th minute. Rogelio Funes Mori received the ball in the box and laid it off for Dorlan Pabón; the ball was intercepted by Alonso Zamora, but his attempted clearance hit teammate Anderson Santamaría and rebounded back towards Funes Mori. He then beat Moisés Muñoz at the near post to make it 1-0 for the Rayados.

Monterrey then had a chance to add to their lead through Jonathan González, but that time Muñoz was able to make the save.

Then, in the 26th minute, Puebla tied the game. Alejandro Chumacero’s initial shot was blocked by José María Basanta, but the rebound fell for Omar Fernández, who made it 1-1.

Puebla completed the comeback just before halftime as Luis Venegas finished off a cross from Brayan Angulo to give the visitors the 1-2 lead in the 45th minute.

In the second half, Monterrey saw a would-be equalizer disallowed for offside in the 53rd minute and then in the 68th Muñoz made a good save on Nicolás Sánchez. The hosts were unable to find a second goal and instead Puebla put the game out of reach late on.

In the 88th minute, Lucas Cavallini sealed the victory for Puebla when he ran on to a long ball, cut around his defender, drove into the box, and shot past the onrushing Hugo González to make it 1-3.

With the 1-3 win, Puebla reaches 17 points while Monterrey still has 15.



Monterrey: Hugo González, Nicolás Sánchez, José María Basanta, Efraín Velarde (Carlos Sánchez 58′), John Stefan Medina (Josué Domínguez 84′), Celso Ortiz, Jesús Molina (Jorge Benítez 75′), Jonthan González, Rogelio Funes Mori, Dorlan Pabón, Avilés Hurtado.

Puebla: Moisés Muñoz, Brayan Angulo (Diego Cruz 65′), Luis Venegas, Alonso Zamora, Anderson Santamaría, Hugo Isaác Rodríguez, Christian Marrugo, Omar Fernández (Francisco Acuña 72′), José Daniel Guerrero, Lucas Cavallini, Alejandro Chumacero (Jorge Enríquez 82′).


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.