Santos Laguna vs Monterrey – Jornada 11 Recap and Highlights

Santos Laguna remained top of the table with a 3-2 victory against Monterrey. The result is a third straight win for the Laguneros, who remain unbeaten at home this season, while the Rayados have now lost two in a row and three of their last four.

The game started off perfectly for Monterrey before going off the rails. The visitors took the lead in just the 2nd minute, when Rogelio Funes Mori’s shot from outside the box beat Jonathan Orozco with the help of a deflection off Jorge Villafaña to make it 0-1.

But Monterrey couldn’t hold on to the lead. Despite missing league-leading goalscorer Djaniny due to injury, Santos still managed to find their scoring touch. In the 27th minute, Jesús Isijara played in Jonathan Rodríguez, who made it 1-1 from inside the six-yard box.

The hosts completed the turnaround just before halftime, when Julio César Furch made it 2-1 with his volleyed effort following a corner kick by Osvaldo Martínez.

Santos started the second half the same way they ended the first as Rodríguez scored his second of the night in the 47th minute to give the Guerreros a commanding 3-1 lead with a volley of his own.

Santos continued to attack and they dominated the game. A fourth goal seemed inevitable, but instead Monterrey reduced the deficit against the run of play. In the 70th minute, Carlos Sánchez won a penalty kick, which Nico Sánchez converted to make it 3-2.

The Rayados could have grabbed an equalizer in the 80th minute, but Jesús Molina couldn’t convert his opportunity.

Then, in stoppage time, Nico Sánchez was given a straight red card to add insult to injury for Monterrey.

With the 3-2 win, Santos reaches 23 points while Monterrey still has 15.



Santos: Jonathan Orozco, José Javier Abella, Néstor Araujo, Jorge Villafaña, Carlos Izquierdoz, Jesús Isijara, Osvaldo Martínez (Diego de Buen 77′), Brian Lozano, José Juan Vázquez, Julio César Furch (Edwuin Angulo 85′), Jonathan Rodríguez (Gerardo Alcoba 77′).

Monterrey: Juan Carrizo, César Montes, Nicolás Sánchez, Efraín Velarde, John Stefan Medina, Arturo González (Dorlan Pabón 53′), Celso Ortiz, Jesús Molina, Eric Cantú (Carlos Sánchez 66′), Rogelio Funes Mori, Avilés Hurtado (Lucas Albertengo 53′).


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.