2018 Balón de Oro Voting Open

The candidates for the 2018 Liga MX Balón de Oro awards have been released and fans can have their say in the voting here.

Voting is open for the five “best player by position” awards as well as Best Coach, Rookie of the Year, and Goal of the Year.

The nominees were chosen by a panel of Mexican sports journalists at the end of the Apertura 2017 and Clausura 2018 seasons, with one nominee for each award for each season.

The categories and nominees are:

Best Goalkeeper: Marcelo Barovero (Necaxa) and Agustín Marchesín (América)

Best Defender: Hugo Ayala (Tigres UANL) and Carlos Izquierdoz (Santos Laguna)

Best Defensive Midfielder: Jonathan González (Monterrey) and José Juan Vázquez (Santos)

Best Attacking Midfielder: Víctor Guzmán (Pachuca) and Rubens Sambueza (Toluca)

Best Forward: Avilés Hurtado (Monterrey) and Djaniny Tavares (Santos)

Rookie of the Year: Jonathan González (Monterrey) and José Hernández (Atlas)

Best Coach: Ricardo Ferretti (Tigres) y Robert Dante Siboldi (Santos)

The nominees for Best Goal are:

Amaury Escoto (Chivas vs Lobos, Jornada 10 of the Apertura 2017)
Fernando Uribe (Morelia vs Toluca, quarterfinals of the Apertura 2017)
Raúl Ruidíaz (Morelia vs Atlas, Jornada 10 of the Clausura 2018)
Everaldo Stum (Querétaro vs Necaxa, Jornada 11 of the Clausura 2018)
Rafael Carioca (Tigres vs León, Jornada 13 of the Clausura 2018)

The goals can be viewed and voted on here.

The Balón de Oro awards ceremony will be held July 14th in Los Angeles.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.