2018 Balón de Oro Awards

The Liga MX Balón de Oro awards were presented this Saturday at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

In total, eleven awards were handed out to recognize outstanding performance in the Apertura 2017 and Clausura 2018 season.

The Best of the 2017-18 Season

Goal of the Year: Amaury Escoto (Lobos BUAP) for his bicycle kick against Chivas

Best Goalkeeper: Marcelo Barovero (Necaxa)

Best Defender: Hugo Ayala (Tigres UANL)

Best Defensive Midfielder: José Juan Vázquez (Santos Laguna)

Best Attacking Midfielder: Rubens Sambueza (Toluca)

Best Forward: Djaniny Tavares (Santos Laguna)

Best Coach: Robert Dante Siboldi (Santos Laguna)

Rookie of the Year: Jonathan González (Monterrey)

Goalscorer of the Year: Mauro Boselli (León)

Player of the Year: Rubens Sambueza (Toluca)

Special Awards

Career: José Saturnino Cardozo was recognized for his successful career as both a player and coach


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.