León vs Monterrey – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

Monterrey earned a 0-2 away win against 9-man León to keep the Rayados perfect in the Apertura 2018. The result is a second straight loss for La Fiera, who are currently penultimate in the table.

Pre-game incidents cast a shadow on the game as fights between León and Monterrey fans ended up with authorities detaining 29 people. Liga MX posted a statement condemning such behavior and reminding fans that “safe stadiums are everyone’s responsibility”.

The game started off with both teams evenly matched. The first good chance of the game didn’t come until the 18th minute, when Yairo Moreno had a point-blank shot stopped by Marcelo Barovero.

Minutes after that, Pedro Aquino was given a straight red card for a sliding tackle on Celso Ortiz, leaving León to see out the rest of the game with just 10 men.

Nevertheless, León stayed firm defensively and even found another chance of note through William Tesillo’s attempt from distance, although once again Barovero was able to make the save.

In the second half, Monterrey looked more dangerous. In the 55th minute, Avilés Hurtado received a through ball and had a good chance, but sent his shot directly at Rodolfo Cota.

When Rogelio Funes Mori entered as a sub, the Rayados got even more incisive in the final third. In the 73rd minute, Monterrey earned a penalty kick and Nicolás Sánchez converted it to make it 0-1 for the Rayados.

León looked for a tying goal, but they were hampered by their numerical disadvantage. In stoppage time, Monterrey put the game out of reach when Funes Mori made it 0-2 with a quick counterattack.

Then, to add insult to injury, Fernando Navarro was sent off in the aftermath of the goal, leaving León down two goals and down two men as well.

With the 0-2 win, Monterrey reaches six points while León still has zero.



León: Rodolfo Cota, Andrés Mosquera, Fernando Navarro, William Tesillo, Juan Cornejo, Luis Montes, Yairo Moreno (Walter González 77′), Alexander Mejía, Pedro Aquino, Maximiliano Cerato (Leonel López 61′), Mauro Boselli (Claudio González 77′).

Monterrey: Marcelo Barovero, Nicolás Sánchez, Leonel Vangioni (Rogelio Funes Mori 58′), José Basanta, John Stefan Medina, Celso Ortiz (Arturo González 27′), Jesús Gallardo, Jonathan González, Jonathan Urretaviscaya, Avilés Hurtado (Jesús Molina 77′), Rodolfo Pizarro.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.