América vs Monterrey – Jornada 4 Recap and Highlights

América remained perfect at home this season with a 3-0 victory against 10-man Monterrey. The result give the Águilas a three-game winning streak, while the Rayados saw their perfect start to the season come to an end.

The game started off at a measured pace, with both sides studying their opponent. Neither team took control, and it was ultimately a defensive error that allowed América to open the scoring. Monterrey lost the ball while trying to play out of the back and Roger Martínez pounced to make it 1-0 in the 23rd minute.

The night quickly got even more complicated for Monterrey, as John Stefan Medina was sent off with his second yellow card of the game in the 29th minute. The Rayados still managed to make some work for Agustín Marchesín even playing with 10, but they couldn’t get past the keeper.

América came out attacking in the second half as they looked to add to their lead. In the 48th minute, Andrés Ibargüen got free on the left, got to the endline, and cut a cross back for Oribe Peralta, but Marcelo Barovero was able to make the save.

Just a minute later, though, the Águilas found their second, with Bruno Valdez taking advantage of a set piece to make it 2-0 with his header.

Monterrey struggled for a reaction, with their numerical disadvantage beginning to show. Luis Madrigal had a header in the 71st minute, but it went straight to Marchesín, and that was their clearest chance of the half.

In the 79th minute, Carlos Vargas hit the woodwork with his free kick as América continued to press forward. Then, in the 84th minute, they won a penalty kick. Andrés Ibargüen stepped up to take it and he converted it to make it 3-0.

With the 3-0 win, América reaches nine points while Monterrey still has nine.



América: Agustín Marchesín, Jorge Sánchez, Edson Álvarez, Luis Reyes (Carlos Vargas 58′), Bruno Valdez, Guido Rodríguez, Mateus Uribe (Renato Ibarra 68′), Andrés Ibargüen, Diego Lainez, Roger Martínez, Oribe Peralta (Joe Corona 68′).

Monterrey: Marcelo Barovero, Nicolás Sánchez, Leonel Vangioni (Luis Madrigal 55′), José María Basanta, John Stefan Medina, Eric Cantú, Jesús Gallardo, Jonathan González, Jonathan Urretaviscaya (Dorlan Pabón 55′), Avilés Hurtado, Rodolfo Pizarro.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.