Cruz Azul vs Veracruz – Jornada 8 Recap and Highlights

Cruz Azul kept their unbeaten season going with a comprehensive 4-1 victory against Veracruz. The result keeps La Máquina perfect at home in the Apertura 2018, while the Tiburones Rojos have now lost three of their last four.

Cruz Azul had the better of the early chances, with Milton Caraglio in particular keeping Veracruz’s defense on their toes. Elías Hernández also had a dangerous opportunity with his volleyed attempt in the 17th minute, but his shot was ultimately off target.

Then, in the 32nd minute, the hosts took the lead. Good interplay among the attackers ended with Roberto Álvarado sending his low shot from the top of the box past Pedro Gallese to make it 1-0 for Cruz Azul.

Veracruz got a chance to get back into the game early in the second half, however, when referee Roberto García Orozco awarded the visitors a penalty kick. Bryan Carrasco stepped up to take the spot kick and he sent it past Jesús Corona to make it 1-1 in the 46th minute.

Moments later, Cristian Menéndez hit the woodwork with his header as the Tiburones looked to take the lead. But the next goal fell for Cruz Azul.

In the 55th minute, Elías Hernández restored La Máquina’s lead with his shot from outside the box to make it 2-1.

Then, in the 69th minute, Milton Caraglio headed home a cross from Álvarado to make it 3-1 and put Cruz Azul comfortably in control.

Cruz Azul ran the score up further in the 76th minute with an own-goal from the unfortunate Rodrigo Noya, who in attempting to poke the ball away from Elías Hernández sent it into his own net to make it 4-1.

With the 4-1 win, Cruz Azul reaches 20 points while Veracruz still has seven.



Cruz Azul: José de Jesús Corona, Pablo Aguilar, Julio César Domínguez, Gerardo Flores (Igor Lichnovsky 68′), Adrián Aldrete, Elías Hernández, Édgar Mendez (Walter Montoya 81′), Rafael Baca, Iván Marcone, Roberto Álvarado, Milton Caraglio (Martín Cauteruccio 71′).

Veracruz: Pedro Gallese, Rodrigo Noya, Osmar Mares (Carlos Esquivel 13′), Jefferson Murillo, José Arturo Rivas, Jesús Paganoni, Luis Martínez (Joe Abrigo 59′), Wilder Cartagena, Bryan Carrasco, Ronaldo Prieto (Diego Chávez 45′), Cristian Menéndez.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.