Veracruz vs Toluca – Jornada 9 Recap and Highlights

Veracruz erased a two-goal deficit only to concede a late penalty as they fell 2-3 to Toluca. The result gives the Diablos Rojos back-to-back wins while the Tiburones Rojos have now lost two in a row.

The visitors quickly took control of the game, and in the 13th minute they took the lead. Rubens Sambueza played in Luis Quiñones, whose low shot to the far post beat Pedro Gallese to make it 0-1 for Toluca.

Veracruz struggled to get a foothold in the game while Toluca controlled possession and continued to create chances. Towards the end of the half, they made it 0-2 from a set piece, with Adrián Mora’s left-footed shot putting the Diablos comfortably ahead.

The second half was a different story. Veracruz made a halftime substitution and some adjustments, and in the 53rd minute they reduced the deficit. Diego Chávez took advantage of a mistake by Alfredo Talavera to get the Tiburones on the board as he made it 1-2.

Then, just five minutes later, Veracruz tied the game. Adrián Luna sent a free kick into the box and Rodrigo Noya sent it past Talavera to level the score at 2-2.

After the equalizer, the game turned into an end-to-end affair as Veracruz looked to complete the comeback and Toluca looked to restore their lead, but the game remained stubbornly deadlocked.

Then, in the 84th minute, Veracruz went down to 10 men as Luis Caicedo was ejected with his second yellow card of the night for scissoring down Sambueza inside the box. That foul also gave Toluca a late opportunity to retake the lead from the penalty spot.

Sambueza stepped up to take the PK and he scored it to made it 2-3 for Toluca in the 87th minute.

With the 2-3 win, Toluca reaches 16 points while Veracruz still has seven.



Veracruz: Pedro Gallese, Luis Caicedo, Rodrigo Noya, José Arturo Rivas, Jesús Paganoni, Wilder Cartagena (Eduardo Pastrana 46′), Adrián Luna, Diego Chávez, Bryan Carrasco, Ronaldo Prieto (Carlos Esquivel 73′), Cristian Menéndez.

Toluca: Alfredo Talavera, Omar Tobio, Santiago García, Rodrigo Salinas, Adrián Mora, William da Silva, Rubens Sambueza, Antonio Ríos, Luis Quiñones (Adolfo Domínguez 94′), Luis Mendoza (Alexis Canelo 70′), Ernesto Vega (Amaury Escoto 88′).

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.