Pumas UNAM vs Lobos BUAP – Jornada 9 Recap and Highlights

Pumas UNAM moved into second place with a comprehensive 4-2 victory against Lobos BUAP. The result is a second straight win for the universitarios, who are unbeaten in three, while the Licántropos have now lost five in a row and are winless in seven.

The game started off perfectly for the hosts, who took the lead in just the 6th minute. José Esquivel tried to cut out a cross, but the defender only managed to redirect the ball into the path of Alan Mendoza, who made it 1-0.

Lobos looked to react and Pumas sat back and let them have possession, but the visitors couldn’t do much with it. As the half wore on, the game settled into midfield. Then, in the 31st minute, Pumas nearly made it two with a shot from Felipe Mora that forced an impressive save out of Toño Rodríguez.

Lobos looked better into the second half, though, and in the 57th minute they tied the game. Michaell Chirinos got into the box and drew out Alfredo Saldívar before rounding the keeper and sending the ball into the empty net to make it 1-1.

Pumas quickly found a response, however, and in the 65th minute they retook the lead. Some confusion in Lobos’ box and an insufficient clearance led to Juan Iturbe collecting the loose ball at the top of the box and making it 2-1.

Just minutes later, it was 3-1. Carlos González played in Pablo Barrera, and the captain sent his low shot into the back of the net to give the hosts a comfortable lead.

But Lobos made things interesting in the 73rd minute when they cut the deficit to 3-2. Leonardo Ramos received the ball from Bryan Rabello at the penalty spot and beat Saldívar to give the visitors a chance at a comeback.

But Pumas restored their two-goal lead in the 83rd minute. González sent in a cross and substitute Matías Alustiza headed it home to give UNAM the definitive 4-2 lead.

With the 4-2 win, Pumas reach 17 points while Lobos still have four.



Pumas: Alfredo Saldívar, Alan Mozo, Luis Quintana, Alan Mendoza, Pablo Jáquez, Kevin Escamilla (Andrés Iniestra 75′), Víctor Malcorra, Martín Rodríguez (Juan Iturbe 58′), Pablo Barrera, Felipe Mora (Matías Alustiza 63′), Carlos González.

Lobos: José Antonio Rodríguez, Francisco Rodríguez, José Esquivel (Mauro Lainez 36′), Felix Crisanto, Michael Orozco, Aldo Cruz, Abraham González, Bryan Rabello, Jordan Sierra (Diego Jiménez 89′), Michaell Chirinos (Luis Olascoaga 77′), Leonardo Ramos.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.