Puebla vs América – Jornada 10 Recap and Highlights

10-man América managed a stoppage time goal to give them a 2-3 away win against Puebla. The result is a third straight win for the Águilas, who are unbeaten in four, while the Poblanos saw their two-game winning streak snapped.

The visitors looked the better side from the start, and they quickly caused problems for Puebla’s defense. In the 6th minute, Anderson Santamaría was called for a handball in the box and Cecilio Domínguez scored the ensuing penalty to give América the 0-1 lead.

Puebla wasn’t discouraged by that early goal, however, and they kept pressing in search of a response. Their tactics allowed América a number of counterattacking opportunities, though, and in the 30th minute Domínguez very nearly scored his second, but Nicolás Vikonis was able to make the kick-save.

Then, shortly before halftime, Puebla leveled the game. Alejandro Chumacero brought the ball to the end line before crossing it to the far post, where Lucas Cavallini headed it home to make it 1-1.

But parity lasted for just a minute before América responded, with Oribe Peralta making it 1-2 in the 43rd minute.

The second half started as an end-to-end affair, with both Vikonis and Agustín Marchesín called repeatedly into action. Then, in the 59th minute, Puebla again found the equalizer. From a corner kick, Daniel Arreola out-jumped his defender to make it 2-2 with his header.

After scoring the second, Puebla opted to take a more defensive posture and rely on counterattacks, and América took advantage as they created chance after chance. But then, in the 80th minute, Edson Álvarez was sent off with his second yellow card of the night, leaving América with just 10 men.

Nevertheless, in the 92nd minute, the Águilas won a free kick and sent the ball deep into the box. Jorge Sánchez headed it on, Vikonis made the save but couldn’t hold it, and Bruno Valdez stabbed home the loose ball to make it 2-3 for América.

With the 2-3 win, América reaches 20 points while Puebla still has 13.



Puebla: Nicolás Vikonis, Brayan Angulo, Anderson Santamaría, Daniel Arreola, José Pallas (Christian Tabó 56′), Vladimir Loroña, Alejandro Chumacero (Cristian Palacios 45′), Pablo González, Francisco Acuña (Hugo Isaác Rodríguez 74′), José Francisco Torres, Lucas Cavallini.

América: Agustín Marchesín, Jorge Sánchez, Edson Álvarez, Víctor Aguilera, Paul Aguilar, Guido Rodríguez, Mateus Uribe, Cecilio Domínguez (Cristian Insaurralde 86′), Renato Ibarra (Bruno Valdez 89′), Henry Martín (Andrés Ibargüen 74′), Oribe Peralta.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.