Chivas de Guadalajara vs Pumas UNAM – Jornada 12 Recap and Highlights

Chivas de Guadalajara took the lead but couldn’t hold it as Pumas UNAM came back for a 1-2 away win. The result extends the universitarios’ unbeaten streak to six games, while El Rebaño saw their own three-game unbeaten streak halted.

The game started off at a blistering pace. Almost immediately, Pumas won a free kick, which Pablo Barrera took and nearly caught out Raúl Gudiño with, although the keeper was able to get back and make the save.

Then, in the 5th minute, Gael Sandoval sent a cross into the box that skimmed off a head to fall to the feet of Isaác Brizuela, who sent the ball past Alfredo Saldívar to make it 1-0 for Chivas very early on.

But it didn’t take long for Pumas to find an equalizer. In the 14th minute, Alan Mozo got into the box and sent a low cross across the face of goal; it was behind the first attacker but Martín Rodríguez was running in on the left and he sent it first-time into the net to make it 1-1.

The frenetic pace continued, and Chivas came as close as hitting the woodwork through Edwin Hernández’s free kick, but the game remained tied at halftime.

In the second half, the game began to tilt in UNAM’s favor. In the 66th minute, they were able to complete the comeback and take the lead. Felipe Mora got his head to a cross and sent the ball past a frozen Gudiño to make it 1-2 for the visitors.

Mora nearly had another five minutes later, but that time his shot hit the woodwork. Chivas looked for a response but in the end couldn’t find one, as Pumas beat Chivas in Guadalajara for the first time in 35 years.

With the 1-2 win, Pumas reach 22 points while Chivas still has 15.



Chivas: Raúl Gudiño, Josécarlos van Rankin, Jair Pereira, Hedgardo Marín, Edwin Hernández, Isaác Brizuela, Walter Gael Sandoval (Alejandro Zendejas 85′), Alan Cervantes, Fernando Beltrán (Michael Pérez 54′), Alan Pulido, José Godínez (Ángel Zaldívar 73′).

Pumas: Alfredo Saldívar, Alan Mozo, Alejandro Arribas (Pablo Jáquez 77′), Luis Quintana, Alan Mendoza, Víctor Malcorra, Andrés Iniestra, Martín Rodríguez, Pablo Barrera (David Cabrera 66′), Felipe Mora (Juan Iturbe 83′), Carlos González.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.