Tijuana vs Pumas UNAM – Jornada 14 Recap and Highlights

A late goal gave Pumas UNAM a 0-1 away win against Tijuana. The result is a second straight away win for the universitarios, who are unbeaten in eight overall, while the Xolos have now lost two in a row and are winless in four.

Neither team could make their mark on the game in the first half, which was played out largely in midfield. Tijuana was looking to use their home-field advantage to end their winless streak, but they couldn’t create many notable chances.

The intensity of the game picked up towards the end of the half, and Pumas had a good opportunity to take the lead as Carlos González sent his shot crashing into the post.

In the second half, the game tilted lightly in UNAM’s favor, with the visitors having the better of the few chances. But then, in the 71st minute, it looked like Tijuana would take the lead as the hosts were awarded a penalty kick following a handball in the box.

Juan Lucero stepped up to take the spot kick, but Alfredo Saldívar made the save to keep the game tied 0-0.

That missed opportunity took some of the wind out of Tijuana’s sails, while Pumas looked to capitalize on the change in momentum. David Patiño made some attack-minded substitutions, and they soon paid off for Pumas.

Juan Iturbe, who had come on in the 78th minute, got free on the left wing and played a cross back for fellow substitute Matías Alustiza at the top of the box. He made no mistake with his finish, giving the visitors the 0-1 lead in the 85th minute.

Tijuana was unable to react to that late goal as their winless streak continues.

With the 0-1 win, Pumas reach 26 points while Tijuana still has 16.



Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Julián Velázquez, Luis Fernando Fuentes, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Omar Mendoza, Diego González, Diego Rodríguez (Luis Chávez 60′), Jesús Angulo, Juan Lucero (Erick Torres 83′), Eryc Castillo (Fabián Castillo 60′), Miler Bolaños.

Pumas: Alfredo Saldívar, Alejandro Arribas, Luis Quintana, Alan Mendoza (Matías Alustiza 78′), Diego Rosales, Víctor Malcorra, Andrés Iniestra, Martín Rodríguez (Juan Iturbe 78′), Pablo Barrera, Felipe Mora (David Cabrera 83′), Carlos González.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.