América vs Veracruz – Jornada 17 Recap and Highlights

América earned a comfortable 4-1 victory against 10-man Veracruz – despite missing a penalty – to confirm the Águilas’ second-place finish and keep the Tiburones Rojos in last place. The result ends a three-game winless streak for América, who are unbeaten in 11, while Veracruz wraps up the season with a 10-game winless streak.

This game was played at Toluca’s Estadio Nemesio Diez due to poor field conditions in the Estadio Azteca, but the change of venue didn’t appear to bother América at all as they took the lead in the very first minute of play. Cecilio Domínguez sent a cross in from the left for Roger Martínez, who finished it off at the top of the six-yard box to make it 1-0.

In the 7th minute, Guido Rodríguez made it 2-0 with his shot from outside the box.

Veracruz was able to reduce the deficit from the penalty spot in the 15th minute after Jefferson Murillo was fouled in the box. Bryan Carrasco stepped up to take the spot kick, and he converted it to make it 2-1.

But América soon restored their two-goal lead. In the 25th minute, Víctor Aguilera sent his free kick past a frozen Sebastián Jurado to make it 3-1.

The game took another turn in first-half stoppage time, as Jesús Paganoni was called for a handball inside the box. The Veracruz defender was given a red card and América was awarded a penalty kick. Cecilio Domínguez saw his penalty saved, however, with Jurado making the block to keep it 3-1 going into halftime.

América came out attacking in the second half as they looked to take advantage of their extra man to continue to run up the score. Renato Ibarra hit the post; then, in the 68th, he found the net as he sent a free kick unerringly into the upper corner to make it 4-1.

Veracruz, playing with just 10 men, was completely unable to react to América’s dominance, and only some spectacular saves by Sebastián Jurado kept the Águilas from making the scoreline even more lopsided.

With the 4-1 win, América reaches 33 points while Veracruz still has .



América: Agustín Marchesín, Jorge Sánchez (Henry Martín 65′), Edson Álvarez, Víctor Aguilera (Luis Reyes 45′), Paul Aguilar, Guido Rodríguez, Andrés Uribe, Cecilio Domínguez, Renato Ibarra, Roger Martínez, Oribe Peralta (Diego Lainez 45′).

Veracruz: Sebastián Jurado, Luis Caicedo, Rodrigo Noya, Jefferson Murillo, Jesús Paganoni, Luis Noriega, José Ruíz (Joe Abrigo 45′), Adrián Luna, Diego Chávez (Carlos Esquivel 80′), Bryan Carrasco, Ronaldo Prieto (Osmar Mares 37′).

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.