Lobos BUAP vs Santos Laguna – Jornada 1 Recap and Highlights

Lobos BUAP is the only realistic rival Veracruz has in the relegation fight, and the Licántropos earned an important three points in that battle with a 2-0 victory against Santos Laguna in their Clausura 2019 opener.

The game didn’t start off well for the hosts, though; Santos Laguna dominated the early stages and had several clear chances in the opening 15 minutes. The first came when Brian Lozano tried to chip the keeper and the second when Eduar Preciado had a shot from a tight angle that forced Toño Rodríguez to give up a rebound that Julio César Furch also failed to put away.

Santos continued to press and in the 36th minute, Preciado received the ball unmarked at the top of the six-yard box, only to sky his shot over the bar.

The visitors couldn’t make their chances count while they had them, while each miss or save gave Lobos a new lifeline. The hosts finally began to look dangerous themselves towards the end of the half with a free kick that tested Jonathan Orozco, and in the second half they kept their foot on the accelerator.

In the 56th minute, Lobos took the lead. Santos lost the ball trying to play out of the back, with Yago da Silva pouncing on the miscue and sending a cross into the box for Leonardo Ramos, whose header made it 1-0 for the hosts.

Five minutes after that, Yago hit the post as Santos struggled to deal with a suddenly-dangerous Lobos side.

In the 65th minute, Yago sent an arcing shot from just outside the box past Orozco to give Lobos an insurance goal as he made it 2-0.

Santos had a chance to reduce the deficit in the 75th minute through Diego Valdés, but his shot from distance was stopped by the woodwork. Lobos hit the post again at the other end shortly after that, but in the end the score remained 2-0.

With the 2-0 win, Lobos reach three points while Santos still has zero.



Lobos: José Antonio Rodríguez, Francisco Rodríguez, José Esquivel, Felix Crisanto, Michael Orozco, Aldo Cruz, Abraham González, Michaell Chirinos, Óscar Macías, Yago da Silva, Leonardo Ramos.

Santos: Jonathan Orozco, José Javier Abella, Hugo Nervo, Gerardo Arteaga, Matheus Doria, Brayan Garnica, Diego Valdés, Brian Lozano, José Juan Vázquez, Julio César Furch, Eduar Preciado.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.