Veracruz vs Lobos BUAP – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

Lobos BUAP emerged triumphant in this match between relegation rivals as they earned a 0-1 away win against Veracruz. The result is a second straight win for the Licántropos and puts them atop the table, pending the rest of this weekend’s games, while the Tiburones Rojos remain winless and goalless in the Clausura 2019.

Veracruz needed all three points here, but they were unable to earn even one. The visitors had more chances, with Leonardo Ramos and Yago da Silva causing trouble for Veracruz’s defense. Michaell Chirinos had the clearest chance for the Lobos when he got past the keeper, but the defense kept him from getting clear shot and he had to send the ball over to Ramos, where the play was broken up.

At the other end, Veracruz came close with an acrobatic attempt by Cristian Menéndez. “El Polaco” had to stretch to reach a cross from Diego Chávez, but he was able to set himself up for a bicycle kick that fizzed just past the wrong side of the post.

Shortly before halftime, it looked like Lobos would have a chance to take the lead from the penalty spot after Yago went down in the box under the attention of Jefferson Murillo. But after consulting VAR, referee Fernando Guerrero waved off the penalty call.

In the second half, Veracruz came out with more attacking impetus, and they found several chances through set pieces. But just as the Tiburones were enjoying one of their strongest spells, Lobos grabbed the lead.

In the 70th minute, Lobos moved the ball quickly upfield, with José Esquivel sending the ball to Bryan Rabello, who immediately flicked it on for Ramos, whose first-time shot from the edge of the box made it 0-1 for the visitors.

Veracruz threw numbers forward in the final stages as they looked to get something out of the game, but in the end they were unable to find a goal, with the loss sending them ever closer to the drop.

With the 0-1 win, Lobos reach six points while Veracruz still has one.



Veracruz: Sebastián Jurado, Luis Caicedo, Lampros Kontogiannis, Jefferson Murillo, Jesús Paganoni, Luis Martínez, Sebastián Rodríguez, Rodrigo López (Ronaldo Prieto 83′), Diego Chávez (Adrián Luna 69′), Bryan Carrasco (Colin Kazim-Richards 58′), Cristian Menéndez.

Lobos: José Antonio Rodríguez, Francisco Rodríguez, José Esquivel, Felix Crisanto, Michael Orozco, Aldo Cruz, Abraham González, Bryan Rabello (Óscar Macías 82′), Michaell Chirinos (Mauro Lainez 68′), Yago da Silva (Rafael Durán 88′), Leonardo Ramos.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.