Monterrey vs León – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

Monterrey took a 2-0 lead but couldn’t hold it as León fought back for a 2-2 draw. The result keeps both teams unbeaten in the Clausura 2019, although La Fiera also remains winless.

Neither team could take control in the first half. Monterrey looked to use their speed to get behind León’s defense, but the visitors were well-organized and were able to use Luis Montes and Rubens Sambueza to get some control in the midfield.

In the second half, however, the Rayados took the lead. In the 53rd minute, after consulting with VAR, referee Francisco Chacón awarded a penalty to the hosts. Nicolás Sánchez took it and converted it to make it 1-0 for Monterrey.

That goal invigorated the hosts. Rogelio Funes Mori came close to adding to the lead in the 64th minute with a header from close range, but his attempt was off-target. Then, minutes later, Leonel Vangioni had a shot that took a deflection before ultimately being saved by Rodolfo Cota.

But the pressure paid off in the 71st minute, when Sánchez scored his second of the night when he headed home a cross from Carlos Rodríguez, giving Monterrey what looked like a comfortable lead.

But León quickly reduced the deficit, with Vinicio Angulo bringing the ball down on his chest at the top of the six-yard box and then sending a low shot past Marcelo Barovero to make it 2-1 in the 73rd minute.

After that goal, La Fiera pressed hard in search of an equalizer. They were on the wrong side of one last weekend, when they saw a 2-1 lead disappear in stoppage time, but this weekend they were the ones coming back late on.

In the 94th minute, Andrés Mosquera sent his shot into the crossbar, only for the ball to rebound back into the tumbling player and just cross the goal line. Barovero grabbed the ball, but it was too late; León had the equalizer. 2-2.

With the 2-2 draw, Monterrey reaches four points while León reaches two.



Monterrey: Marcelo Barovero, César Montes, Nicolás Sánchez, Leonel Vangioni, John Stefan Medina, Jesús Gallardo (Ángel Zaldívar 83′), Jonathan González, Carlos Rodríguez, Rogelio Funes Mori, Dorlan Pabón (Celso Ortíz 80′), Avilés Hurtado (Maximiliano Meza 70′).

León: Rodolfo Cota, Andrés Mosquera, Fernando Navarro, William Tesillo, Luis Montes (Miguel Herrera 70′), Yairo Moreno (Jorge Díaz 74′), José Rodríguez, Ángel Mena (Walter González 60′), Rubens Sambueza, Pedro Aquino, Vinicio Angulo.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.