León vs Tijuana – Jornada 3 Recap and Highlights

Tijuana beat León by the minimum difference in the final game of Jornada 3. The result gives the Xolos their first win of the Clausura 2019 while keeping La Fiera winless and ending their unbeaten streak.

León, looking to get their first win in front of their home fans, had several chances to open the scoring, with Manuel Gibrán Lajud repeatedly called into action to keep the hosts off the board.

But it was Tijuana who took the lead. A defensive miscue in the 26th minute allowed Gustavo Bou to get in behind the defense, knock the ball past the onrushing Rodolfo Cota, and then tap it into the empty net to give the Xolos the 0-1 lead with their first goal of the Clausura.

Fabián Castillo had a chance to make it two for Tijuana in the 34th minute, but that time Cota was able to make the save. At the other end, Luis Montes came close to an equalizer but was stopped by Gibrán Lajud.

In the second half, Tijuana took the initiative as they looked to add an insurance goal. Bou and Miler Bolaños were the primary sources of danger for the visitors, but they were unable to find another breakthrough.

By the hour mark, León had regained possession and was relentlessly pressing in search of an equalizer, but Gibrán Lajud turned into the star of the game as he preserved his clean sheet.

In the waning moments of the game, Fernando Navarro got the ball into the net for León, but the would-be goal was disallowed for a foul as La Fiera suffered their first loss of the season.

A scuffle broke out between the two teams after the final whistle, with Rubens Sambueza and Gibrán Lajud ending up carded after VAR reviewed the incident.

With the 0-1 win, Tijuana reaches three points while León still has two.



León: Rodolfo Cota, Andrés Mosquera, Fernando Navarro, William Tesillo, Miguel Herrera (Walter González 70′), Luis Montes, José Rodríguez, Ángel Mena (Jorge Díaz 85′), Rubens Sambueza, Jean Meneses, Vinicio Angulo (José Macías 76′).

Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Julián Velázquez, Luis Fernando Fuentes, Diego Braghieri, Omar Mendoza, Diego González, José Rivero, Diego Rodríguez, Fabián Castillo (Juan Carlos Valenzuela 61′), Gustavo Bou (Eryc Castillo 70′), Miler Bolaños (Joe Corona 76′).


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.