Veracruz vs Puebla – Jornada 4 Recap and Highlights

Puebla missed a penalty kick but still did enough to earn a 0-1 win against 10-man Veracruz. The result gives the Poblanos their first victory of the Clausura 2019, while the Tiburones Rojos remain winless – and goalless – this season.

Veracruz came out attacking as they looked to end their scoreless streak, but Nicolás Vikonis was alert and made a pair of important interventions – including coming out of his box to head the ball away from danger – to keep the hosts off the board.

Then, in the 20th minute, Puebla had a golden opportunity to take the lead when they earned a penalty kick. Lucas Cavallini stepped up to take it, but he sent the spot kick into the post to keep the game 0-0.

Cavallini would redeem himself in the 37th minute, though, when he headed a cross from Omar Fernández past a frozen Sebastián Jurado to make it 0-1 for the visitors.

There was some extra excitement in the waning moments of the half when an opossum ran onto the field and trotted around, but it was successfully relocated during halftime.

The evening went from bad to worse for Veracruz in the second half, when Rodrigo López was sent off just minutes after the restart, leaving the Tiburones to try for a comeback while playing with just 10 men.

They did manage to create a few chances despite their numerical disadvantage, but Vikonis continued to make the necessary saves and Veracruz’s shutout streak continued to grow.

Puebla nearly managed an insurance goal at the end, but Jurado made the save on Jesús Zavala to keep Veracruz’s hopes alive for a few more minutes before the final whistle blew on their third loss of the season.

With the 0-1 win, Puebla reaches five points while Veracruz still has one.



Veracruz: Sebastián Jurado, Fabricio Silva, Luis Caicedo, Jesús Paganoni, Carlos Gutiérrez (Joe Abrigo 76′), Sebastián Rodríguez, Rodrigo López, Adrián Luna (Luis Martínez 50′), Bryan Carrasco (Diego Chávez 68′), Colin Kazim-Richards, Cristian Menéndez.

Puebla: Nicolás Vikonis, Brayan Angulo, Daniel Arreola, Néstor Vidrio, Vladimir Loroña (José Pallas 74′), Alejandro Chumacero, José Daniel Guerrero (Pablo González 62′), Jesús Zavala, Lucas Cavallini, Christian Tabó, Omar Fernández (Francisco Acuña 83′).

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.