Pumas UNAM vs América – Jornada 7 Recap and Highlights

Pumas UNAM claimed bragging rights in the Clásico Capitalino with a 1-0 victory against América. The result gave the universitarios their first home win of the season and their second win in a row, while the Águilas suffered a second straight defeat.

The game was high-energy from the beginning, no surprise in a rivalry match, and the first good chance came in just the 5th minute. América won a free kick in a dangerous position and Nicolás Castillo sent his attempt just over the bar.

Despite that early opportunity for the visitors, the hosts looked the better side overall. Their opportunities came primarily along the wings, where Víctor Malcorra and Pablo Barrera were active in the attack. In the 16th minute, Malcorra had a dangerous shot go just wide.

In the 36th minute, América came close again through Edson Álvarez, who met a cross by Renato Ibarra with a diving header that forced a good save out of Alfredo Saldívar.

After a goalless first half, it took Pumas just two minutes to take the lead after the restart. In the 47th minute, Carlos González headed home a corner kick to make it 1-0 for the hosts.

Pumas looked to add to their lead, and in the 58th minute González came close again with a shot from outside the box; later, Felipe Mora got his head to a free kick but Agustín Marchesín made the save.

Pumas couldn’t put the game away, but América was unable to find a goal of their own, with few chances of note to find an equalizer. In the end, Pumas made the lone goal stand up as they won the Clausura edition of the Clásico Capitalino by the minimum difference.

With the 1-0 win, Pumas reach nine points while América still has nine.



Pumas: Alfredo Saldívar, Alan Mozo, Luis Quintana, Pablo Jáquez, Idekel Domínguez, Kevin Escamilla, Víctor Malcorra (Alejandro Arribas 92′), Andrés Iniestra, Pablo Barrera (David Cabrera 72′), Felipe Mora (Martín Rodríguez 85′), Carlos González.

América: Agustín Marchesín, Jorge Sánchez, Edson Álvarez (Henry Martín 80′), Bruno Valdez, Víctor Aguilera, Paul Aguilar, Guido Rodríguez, Andrés Ibargüen, Renato Ibarra, Roger Martínez (Nicolas Benedetti 64′), Nicolás Castillo.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.