Monterrey vs Tigres UANL – Jornada 10 Recap and Highlights

Monterrey took the lead but couldn’t hold it as Tigres UANL came back for a 1-1 draw in the Clausura 2019 edition of the Clásico Regio. The result keeps the Rayados unbeaten this season, but it also keeps the universitarios in first place, one point ahead of their rivals.

The hosts looked the stronger team for much of the game as they put their home-field advantage to good use, although initially there were chances for both teams. Eduardo Vargas had an early opportunity for Tigres, but he couldn’t get his attempt on target; then, in the 16th minute, Rogelio Funes Mori caught the defense napping but sent his shot into Nahuel Guzmán.

As the game continued, Tigres began to rely on fouls to break up Monterrey’s rhythm, and Francisco Meza was lucky to remain on the field after he could easily have been given a second yellow.

Then, just when Tigres was enjoying a dangerous spell, Monterrey took the lead. In the 33rd minute, Funes Mori and Leonel Vangioni combined well as they moved the ball into the box, with Funes Mori finishing off the play with a nice back-heel to make it 1-0 for the Rayados.

In the second half, the intensity picked up even further as Tigres looked for a response. In the 61st minute, Vargas received a through ball in the box and very nearly tied the game, but his shot ended up just off target.

Then, in the 67th minute, Marcelo Barovero was called into action to deny Luis Quiñones, and then Guido Pizarro, as the visitors continued to knock on the door.

In the 80th minute, Tigres finally got their reward. Luis Quiñones brought the ball into the box and sent it towards the near post from the left side. Barovero got his hand to the ball but couldn’t keep it out as the universitarios tied it up 1-1.

Neither team could go on to find a game winner as this edition of the Clásico Regio finished honors even in the Estadio BBVA Bancomer.

With the 1-1 draw, Monterrey reaches 22 points while Tigres reach 23. 



Monterrey: Marcelo Barovero, César Montes, Nicolás Sánchez, Leonel Vangioni (Ángel Zaldívar 81′), Miguel Layún, Celso Ortiz, Jesús Gallardo, Carlos Rodríguez, Maximiliano Meza (Avilés Hurtado 65′), Rogelio Funes Mori, Dorlan Pabón (Johan Vásquez 75′).

Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Carlos Salcedo, Francisco Meza (Hugo Ayala 45′), Rafael Carioca, Guido Pizarro, Luis Rodríguez, Jesús Dueñas, Eduardo Vargas, Enner Valencia, Luis Quiñones, Julián Quiñones.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.