Pumas UNAM vs Monarcas Morelia – Jornada 10 Recap and Highlights

Monarcas Morelia took a two-goal lead but failed to hold it as Pumas UNAM came back for a 2-2 draw. The result ends a two-game losing streak for the universitarios, but keeps them winless in three, while La Monarquía are unbeaten in two but remain winless in seven.

The game got off to a perfect start for the visitors, who took the lead within the opening 15 seconds. Gastón Lezcano drove into the box, left his defender on the ground, and sent his low shot past the keeper to make it 0-1 for Morelia.

Pumas looked for a response and they had an early chance through Víctor Malcorra, but Sebastián Sosa made the save in the 5th minute to keep the visitors ahead.

It looked like Morelia would add to their lead in the 34th minute, when they were awarded a penalty kick; however, Ray Sandoval wasn’t able to convert the PK as Alfredo Saldívar saved the attempt.

Shortly after the second half began, Morelia won another penalty kick. This time Mario Osuna stepped up to take it, and he converted it to give Monarcas the 0-2 lead in the 50th minute.

Pumas kept fighting, however, and in the 63rd minute they were able to reduce the deficit. Juan Iturbe took a shot from outside the box that went through the hands of Sosa to make it 1-2.

Ten minutes later, the hosts were able to level the game. Felipe Mora headed home a cross from the right to make it 2-2.

The game continued to go off the rails from Morelia’s perspective when Efraín Velarde was sent off in the 83rd minute after picking up his second yellow card. Pumas pressed hard in the final minutes as they looked to use their numerical advantage to complete the comeback, and they very nearly did it with a header in the 86th minute that beat Sosa but hit the post.

In the end, the two teams had to settle for a share of the spoils.

With the 2-2 draw, Pumas reach 10 points while Morelia reaches six.



Pumas: Alfredo Saldívar, Alan Mozo, Alejandro Arribas (Luis Quintana 75’) , Pablo Jáquez, Jeison Angulo (Felipe Mora 39’), David Cabrera (Kevin Escamilla 79’), Víctor Malcorra, Andrés Iniestra, Martín Rodríguez, Juan Iturbe, Carlos González.

Morelia: Sebastián Sosa, Efraín Velarde, Sebastián Vegas, Gabriel Achilier, Mario Osuna, Edison Flores (Rodolfo Vilchis 69’), Ray Sandoval (Roberto Meráz 45’), Rodrigo Millar (Mario Trejo 67’), Aldo Rocha, Gastón Lezcano, Miguel Ángel Sansores.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.