2019 Gold Cup Draw and Groups

The 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup is just over two months away, and the draw for groups has been held. The tournament expanded to 16 teams for this year’s iteration, which has resulted in some unbalanced groups mixing the region’s giants and minnows.

The group stage will kick off on June 15th and run through June 26th; the top two teams in each group will advance to the knockout stages, which will begin June 29th with the quarterfinals. The semifinals will be held July 2nd and 3rd, with the final coming July 7th in Chicago.

The groups were drawn as follows:

Group A: Mexico, Canada, Martinique, Cuba
Group B: Costa Rica, Haiti, Nicaragua, Bermuda
Group C: Honduras, Jamaica, El Salvador, Curaçao
Group D: USA, Guyana, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago

Mexico will start their tournament against Cuba on June 15th; then face Canada on the 19th; and finish up their group against Martinique on the 23rd. El Tri is expected to easily advance out of the group and are favorites to win the tournament.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.