CCL: Sporting Kansas City vs Monterrey – Semifinal Second Leg Recap and Highlights

Sporting Kansas City scored early but couldn’t stop Monterrey’s high-powered attack; the Rayados picked up a 5-2 away victory tonight to easily win this semifinal series with a 10-2 aggregate score.

The hosts, the only non-Mexican team to make it to this round of the tournament, had no realistic chance of overcoming a 5-0 first leg deficit, but they came out attacking as they looked to salvage some dignity. Gerso gave them an early lead – and some fleeting hope – with his 6th minute goal to make it 1-0 (1-5).

But Monterrey quickly got on the board themselves, with Rogelio Funes Mori making it 1-1 (1-6) in the 20th minute, restoring the Rayados’ five-goal cushion and also giving them an away goal.

KC responded again, with Gerso finishing off a rebound given up by Marcelo Barovero in the 29th minute, making it 2-1 (2-6) with his second goal of the night – but after that it was all Monterrey.

Rodolfo Pizarro tied it up before halftime when he finished off a low cross from Jesús Gallardo in the 39th minute, making it 2-2 (2-7).

Kansas City had a chance to go ahead again in the 45th minute when they were awarded a penalty kick in the 45th minute, but Ilie Sánchez saw his PK saved by Barovero.

Then, in the second half, Monterrey continued to run up the score. Miguel Layún scored direct from a free kick in the 60th minute to put the visitors ahead 2-3 on the night and 2-8 on aggregate.

Avilés Hurtado then made it 2-4 (2-9) in the 82nd minute before Funes Mori added an exclamation point with his second of the game to give Monterrey the definitive 2-5 (2-10) victory late on.

With the 5-2 (10-2 aggregate) win, Monterrey advances to the final while Sporting Kansas City is eliminated.



Kansas City: Tim Melia, Matt Besler, Andreu Fontàs (Botond Baráth 56′), Seth Sinovic, Graham Zusi, Ilie Sánchez, Felipe Gutiérrez, Roger Espinoza (Gianluca Busio 57′), Krisztian Nemeth (Daniel Salloi 64′), Gerso Fernandes, Johnny Russell.

Monterrey: Marcelo Barovero, John Stefan Medina, Johan Vázquez (Leonel Vangioni 60′), César Montes, Celso Ortiz, Carlos Rodríguez, Jesús Gallardo (Maximiliano Meza 64′), Miguel Layún, Rogelio Funes Mori, Rodolfo Pizarro (Dorlan Pabón 61′), Avilés Hurtado.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.