Puebla vs León – Jornada 14 Recap and Highlights

León picked up a historic 0-3 away win against 10-man Puebla, with tonight’s victory giving La Fiera 11 consecutive league wins – the longest streak in the history of Liga MX. The result also makes León the first team mathematically qualified for the playoffs. As for the Poblanos, they are now winless in two and remain outside the top eight.

The visitors took control of the game early, with Ángel Mena making it 0-1 in the 5th minute. Néstor Vidrio lost the ball trying to play out of the back, and Mena beat Nicolás Vikonis with his shot from outside the box to give León the early lead.

León could have had a penalty kick in the 15th minute for an apparent handball by Pablo González in the box, but after consulting VAR, the referee awarded only a corner kick.

Then, in the 23rd minute, Jean Meneses added to León’s lead with a volleyed shot into the top corner following a cross by Mena: 0-2 for La Fiera.

Puebla tried to react, but León continued to control the run of play. In the 31st minute, Vikonis was called into action, making a kick-save against José Juan Macías before stopping the follow-up attempt from Luis Montes.

The night went from bad to worse for Puebla in the 45th minute. Mena put Daniel Arreola in a semi-headlock, and the Puebla captain responded by throwing an elbow into Mena’s groin. After consulting VAR, Arreola was ejected for violent conduct, leaving Puebla to see out the rest of the game with just 10 players.

León took advantage of their numerical advantage to add to their lead in the second half. In the 51st minute, Joel Campbell was played in behind the defense and he shot past the onrushing Vikonis to make it 0-3.

Puebla had a chance to reduce the deficit in the 79th minute, but Yohandry Orozco couldn’t find the breakthrough. Then, in the 81st, León looked sure to score a fourth when Mena rounded the keeper and was in on an empty net, but he badly mis-hit his shot to keep it 0-3.

With the 0-3 win, León reaches 35 points while Puebla still has 20.



Puebla: Nicolás Vikonis, Brayan Angulo, Daniel Arreola, Néstor Vidrio, Vladimir Loroña, Alejandro Chumacero (Pablo Gómez 56′), Pablo González, Jesús Zavala, Lucas Cavallini, Omar Fernández (Yohandry Orozco 78′), Alan Acosta (Luis Haquin 45′).

León: Rodolfo Cota, Andrés Mosquera, Fernando Navarro (William Tesillo 71′), Miguel Herrera, Dilan Zúñiga, Luis Montes, José Rodríguez, Ángel Mena, Jean Meneses, Joel Campbell (Yairo Moreno 67′), José Juan Macías (Rubens Sambueza 56′).


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.