San Luis Wins Promotion to Liga MX

Atlético San Luis won the Clausura 2019 Ascenso MX title after a 2-1 aggregate victory over Dorados de Sinaloa; the Potosinos also won the Apertura 2018 Ascenso MX title – again against Dorados de Sinaloa – meaning San Luis has earned automatic promotion without the need for a playoff.

San Luis will take the place of the relegated Veracruz for the upcoming 2019-2020 Liga MX season.

San Luis has had a complicated history; the original San Luis Potosí franchise moved after the Clausura 2013 season and became Jaguares de Chiapas; the original Veracruz moved to San Luis and became Atlético San Luis, while La Piedad moved to Veracruz to become the current Tiburones Rojos.

The reborn San Luis took their place in Ascenso MX for the Apertura 2013 season, where they remained. Then, it seemed Jaguares would move back to San Luis to play in the 2016-17 Liga MX season, but in the end Jaguares did not return and San Luis was unable to register for Ascenso MX, either, leaving the city without a soccer team for the 2016-17 season.

Atlético San Luis returned to Ascenso MX for the 2017-18 season, and then won back-to-back titles in the 2018-19 season to earn promotion to Liga MX.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.