MLS vs Liga MX Leagues Cup Announced

A new inter-league competition between Liga MX and Major League Soccer was announced on Wednesday: the Leagues Cup.

The Leagues Cup will feature four teams from each league and will start in July. For this edition, the four Liga MX teams were selected based on recent competition results, while the four MLS teams were invited; in future editions, currently unspecified sporting criteria will determine the participants.

This year’s participants are: Club América, Cruz Azul, Tigres UANL, and Tijuana for Liga MX; and Chicago Fire, Houston Dynamo, LA Galaxy, and Real Salt Lake for MLS.

The first round will be held on July 23 and 24th and will be hosted by the MLS teams; the quarterfinal pairings are: Chicago vs Cruz Azul; LA Galaxy vs Tijuana; Houston vs América; and Real Salt Lake vs Tigres.

The semifinal rounds will take place on August 20th, with the location to be determined based on the quarterfinal results. The final will take place on September 18 in a U.S. location to be announced.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.