2019-2020 Copa MX Groups Announced

The Copa MX has undergone a bit of a makeover for the 2019-2020 season; most notably, there will only be one tournament, with the group stage taking place in the Apertura 2019 and the knockout rounds in the Clausura 2020, instead of running a full tournament in each season.

The group stage will begin on July 31, while the knockout rounds – which will now be two-legged, total-goals series – will start on January 21.

A total of 27 clubs will participate, 15 from Liga MX and 12 from Ascenso MX, and they were drawn into nine groups of three with the requirement that each group have at least one team from each league.

The groups are as follows:

Group 1: Cimarrones, Puebla, Monarcas Morelia
Group 2: Monterrey, Leones Negros, Cafetaleros
Group 3: Atlante, FC Juárez, Venados
Group 4: Toluca, Alebrijes de Oaxaca, Veracruz
Group 5: Mineros, Tijuana, Querétaro
Group 6: Dorados de Sinaloa, Necaxa, Celaya
Group 7: Santos Laguna, Correcaminos, Chivas de Guadalajara
Group 8: Pumas UNAM, Potros UAEM, Atlético San Luis
Group 9: Pachuca, Zacatepec, Atlas

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.