Category Archives: Apertura 2019

Voit Releases Official Match Ball for the Apertura 2019

Voit has introduced a new match ball for Liga MX, Liga MX Femenil, Ascenso MX, and the Copa MX, which will be used during the Apertura 2019 seasons: the LOXUS.

The new protagonist of #LigaBBVA #Voit #JuegoDeDioses

The LOXUS, inspired by the ancient Mayan text of Popul Vuh, features a blue colorway with designs inspired by the Mayan calendar, and is being promoted with the slogan “Game of Gods”.

Continue reading


2019 SuperCopa and Campeón de Campeones: Where to Watch

The annual SuperCopa MX and Campeón de Campeones doubleheader will take place this Sunday at the StubHub Center in Carson, California.

The SuperCopa MX will open the doubleheader, with Cruz Azul, the winners of the Apertura 2018 Copa MX, against Necaxa, the 2018 SuperCopa champion. Necaxa earned their spot because the Clausura 2019 Copa MX winner, América, is playing in the Campeón de Campeones game.

América earned a spot in the “champion of champions” game by winning the Apertura 2018 league title; they will face the Clausura 2019 winners, Tigres UANL, in the second game of the doubleheader.

Continue reading

2019-2020 Copa MX Groups Announced

The Copa MX has undergone a bit of a makeover for the 2019-2020 season; most notably, there will only be one tournament, with the group stage taking place in the Apertura 2019 and the knockout rounds in the Clausura 2020, instead of running a full tournament in each season.

The group stage will begin on July 31, while the knockout rounds – which will now be two-legged, total-goals series – will start on January 21.

A total of 27 clubs will participate, 15 from Liga MX and 12 from Ascenso MX, and they were drawn into nine groups of three with the requirement that each group have at least one team from each league.

Continue reading

Apertura 2019 Liga MX Schedule Announced

The complete schedule for the Apertura 2019 season has been announced. With 19 teams set to participate in Liga MX for the 2019-2020 season, an extra Jornada has been added to the season; in addition, one team will have a bye each week.

The Apertura will kick off on July 19th when Puebla hosts Tijuana, and will conclude on November 24th when FC Juárez hosts Tigres UANL.

The playoffs will start on November 27th, with the Gran Final scheduled for December 12th and 15th. However, if Monterrey reaches the final, it will be played on December 26th and 29th to accommodate the Rayados’ participation in the Club World Cup.

Continue reading

FC Juárez to Replace Lobos BUAP for Apertura 2019

First-division soccer is returning to Juárez. The city was last in the top division in 2010, but the Indios were relegated are the Bicentenario tournament. In 2015, FC Juárez launched in the second division and came close to promotion a few times, but never quite made it up.

Now, current Liga MX team Lobos BUAP will be moving from Puebla to Chihuahua and taking on the Juárez name. Lobos will be replaced in Liga MX, Liga MX Femenil, and the U-20, U-17, U-15, U-13 youth leagues by this new incarnation of FC Juárez.

Liga MX approved the change at its general meeting, which it confirmed in a press release.

Lobos BUAP, in turn, acquired Juárez’s spot in Ascenso MX, but will not be fielding a team for the upcoming Apertura 2019 season, which leaves the second division with just 14 teams.

Liga MX Announces 19 Teams for Apertura 2019

Liga MX is gaining an extra team for the Apertura 2019-Clausura 2020 season.

Liga MX had previously introduced a mechanism for relegated teams to remain in the first division, which also introduced new requirements for Ascenso MX teams to be eligible for promotion – namely, economic stability, proper infrastructure, and the ability to field teams in the various youth divisions as well as Liga MX Femenil.

In the first season after the new process was introduced, the Ascenso MX champion – Cafetaleros de Tapachula – was not eligible for promotion, while the relegated Liga MX team – Lobos BUAP – paid the required 120 million pesos to remain in the first division.

Continue reading