Tag Archives: clausura 2015

Clausura 2015 Copa MX Groups Announced

copa mx logoThe Clausura 2015 edition of the Copa MX will feature the 11 Liga MX teams not involved in another cup competition–that is, the CONCACAF Champions League or the Copa Libertadores–and the 13 best teams from the Liga de Ascenso, with the 24 teams then put into 6 groups of 4.

The first-place finisher in each group, as well as the two best overall second-place teams, will advance to the quarterfinals.

The groups are as follows:

Group 1: Santos Laguna, Querétaro, Zacatecas, San Luis.
Group 2: Monterrey, Veracruz, Correcaminos, Altamira.
Group 3: Tijuana, Leones Negros, Coras Tepic, Necaxa.
Group 4: Chivas de Guadalajara, Lobos BUAP, Irapuato, Dorados de Sinaloa.
Group 5: Toluca, Puebla, Atlante, Mérida.
Group 6: Pumas UNAM, Jaguares de Chiapas, Alebrijes de Oaxaca, Zacatepec.

Clausura 2015 Schedule Announced

liga mx

Just two days after the conclusion of the Apertura 2014 season, Liga MX has released next season’s schedule. The Clausura 2015 season will kick off on Friday, January 9th in Morelia, when Monarcas Morelia hosts Toluca, and will conclude on Sunday, May 10th in Guadalajara, when Chivas hosts Morelia.

The Liguilla will begin with the quarterfinals on May 13th, and the Gran Final is set for May 28th and 31st.

All the first week matchups below:

Friday, January 9
Monarcas Morelia vs Toluca – 8:30 PM
Santos Laguna vs Veracruz – 10:30 PM

Saturday, January 10
América vs León – 6:00 PM
Puebla vs Tijuana – 6:00 PM
Tigres UANL vs Atlas – 8:00 PM
Pachuca vs Cruz Azul – 9:06 PM
Jaguares de Chiapas vs Chivas de Guadalajara – 10:00 PM

Sunday, January 11
Pumas UNAM vs Querétaro – 1:00 PM
Leones Negros vs Monterrey – 6:00 PM

For the complete, full-season schedule, see here.